Contrast: A Personal Story

Before and After My Acne Treatment.

Now, I know it’s generally photography of landscapes or plants or anything else that is used to illustrate the theme of the Weekly Photo Challenge, but this week I’ve decided to go a bit more personal. So, since I couldn’t think of something contrasting to shoot, I’ve chosen me. Hahaha.

I started really getting pimples around my second year of high school. Usually you would think, okay, here’s puberty come a knockin’ and I’ll just have to wait maybe a couple of years until it goes away. Unfortunately for me, this didn’t happen. The before photo that you see was taken in 2010. At the end of twenty-ten was when my acne was at it’s worst (this isn’t even a photo of it really bad!). I even had to go to my formal with my face looking like that, although, it was caked in make-up. And even though I still really enjoyed the night, when I look back on the photos, my smile looks fake and I don’t really look like I’m all that happy.

So come the new year, it was time to take action. Obviously it wasn’t going away anytime soon and no face washes or cleansers were working, so I was down to one last option. Drugs. Now, according to the doctor I saw, my acne was the worst case he’d ever seen (which I find very hard to believe – this and the fact that I don’t really trust any of the doctors in my area).. So naturally, I got prescribed the most effective drug there is for acne which unfortunately has an amazingly large amount of side effects, many of them quite nasty. Not to say that I got them all or to put anyone of the drug. It really does work amazingly.

In a matter of even days I began to see a difference and in a matter of weeks I had very few pimples left and no more massive welts. After about 8-9 months of being on the drug, my face had cleared up completely and all that was left was fairly smooth skin and a bit of remaining redness and scars. With a bit of make-up, I was able to look like I had next-to-perfect skin – as you can see in the second photo.

The third and final photo is of me a month ago. I’ve been off of the drug for a few months now and still my skin is clear. I only get a couple of pimples around my hairline now and about once a month get one somewhere on my face. 🙂 In a year or so, I will begin undergoing some sort of procedure to remove the scars. Don’t know what method I’ll be using yet.. But that’s a while away – and for now, I’m just happy to not feel embarrassed about being seen in public! 😀

So, this was my very long post on acne! Hahaha. I did not expect to write so much of this, but, here you have it! : P

Amber. xx

17 thoughts on “Contrast: A Personal Story

  1. Please write me at jackie paulson at -edit-
    I have scars and cystic acne and I would love to share my story.

  2. It reminds me of a vlogger who I have a lot of respect for; she’s a model with cystic acne and yet she’s brave enough to show her millions of followers her face without makeup. Here’s a link to her video if you want to check it out! It’s definitely very brave of you to post pictures of your self-conscious time.

    • Thank you, Pattie. 🙂 I’ll definitely watch that!

      My mother said to me when I told her about this blog post, “what happens if you ever become famous and people find this photo of you?” and my response what pretty much.. “oh well”. It’s not like I’m the only one who’s gone through it and there’s proof in that video that there’s no need to be ashamed, that there are ways to treat it and that I can have the beautiful, flawless skin I’ve always wanted. (:

      • Indeed! I think that showing your roots can be inspiring to other people, even if you aren’t proud of them. I know that there are plenty of things I would hate people to find out about me, but if I can change someone’s life for the positive by sharing my story, than so be it.

  3. WOW! To say I admire you for the courage you show in posting the before and after shots would be a gross understatement. Not sure I would have been able to do it at that age.

Leave a Reply

