Slacking Off.

Since starting this blog around June this year, I have been incredibly slack in my updating and posting. I did attempt Post a Day 2011, but that didn’t really go so well. So, what do I have to show for it? 21 posts. SINCE JUNE.

Le sigh.

So I thought I’d take the questions from The Daily Post’s post: Looking Back at Post a Day 2011 – How’d You Do? and see if I can pinpoint exactly where I went wrong..

  1. Why did you start the Post a Day/Week Challenge?
    I started the Post a Day challenge hoping I could motivate myself to post more frequently on my newly created blog.
  2. Describe the state of your blog at the time you started the challenge.
    Very empty and neglected. Haa.
  3. How did your blog evolve over the course of the challenge?
    Apart from gaining a few different topics and my learning of how to use WordPress a little more throughout this challenge, there hasn’t really been much evolution.
  4. Did you post as often as you had hoped? Why or why not?
    No I most certainly did not. I can only attribute this to 3 things. My laziness, my being extremely busy with the musical and work and, my mother not letting me use the laptop. 😛 Sad, I know.
  5. What type of blogging strategy works best for you?
    I actually don’t know. But I’d have to say, one where I have my own laptop and time to sit down and write. So, nothing that I’ve done so far. 😉
  6. If you could go back to the beginning, what would you do differently?
    I would make time. No matter how tired or whatever I was. I would try to at least post a little something each day.
  7. What are you most proud of accomplishing this year?
    Nothing to do with blogging really. I’m most proud of attaining a job and being cast in one of my favourite musicals of all time.
  8. Name 3 great blogs you discovered through the challenge.
    First blog I found was Chris Alice Donner’s blog. A mystery writer that I’ve enjoyed reading the posts of, but I have yet to read the first chapters of her novel! I discovered quite a few other amazing blogs but being me, have failed to either subscribe or keep a record off. I shall have to do better next year. -nods-
  9. What surprised you about the challenge?
    How difficult I actually found it. I had a lot of ideas in the beginning, but at time went on and I started to slack off, I forgot all those ideas and then lacked the inspiration to think of other things to blog about.
  10. What advice would you give to others who want to blog regularly?
    Don’t take advice from me. Hahaha.
  11. What are your blogging goals for 2012?
    Definitely to attempt Post a Day again. And also to have more fun and stick to it this time!

I think that narrows it down. Lazy, busy and mother. Haha. What a  tragic life have I. Anyways, I have another couple of things I would like to post today and like my dessert, I don’t wanna put everything in the same bowl and mix it. Not today anyways. 😀

Amber. xx

Leave a Reply

