NaNoWriMo

So I have decided what I’m going to be writing NaNoWriMo! Yay! šŸ˜€

It is not, however, going to be submitted for the official word count or anything as I’m basing it on another person’s idea. Sort of. And I don’t want to be caught up in whatever copyright laws come into play there. (: So, my novel will be based off the beginnings of what looked like a promising story.

LINK TO STORY HERE.

I read this story probably around the start of last year and was saddened to find that it was first uploaded in 2006 and hasn’t been updated since August in 2008. The author had only written six chapters and a prologue allĀ totaledĀ up to 6,473 words. I was so interested andĀ intriguedĀ by where this story could go that my head decided to make it’s own little world and create it’s own little story to make up for the lack of updating.

And so, in the time that has passed since I first read this story, the seed that was planted has turned into a largeĀ rain forestĀ of ideas. My own little world that is now only similar to the original story in two ways:

One;; the place.Ā 

Woodsborough. I kind of fell in love with that name. Not sure why, but I haven’t found anything good enough to replace it. It just fits. (And no, it’s not the place of the Scary movies. That’s Woodsboro. And it’s a real place.. Haha.)

Two;; the .. hard to explain.

Passing through. Well, the author used “falling through” but I prefer “passing through”. But anyways.Ā The idea of falling (or being pushed) off a cliff and falling into another time period. The author never got far enough into the story to explain anything about this, but I’ve thought of it as a magical barrier that one would ‘pass through’ if all they knew to be at the bass of the cliff was desert and death. If they knew, however, that there was another world down there and they jumped knowing that’s where they’d end up, they would indeed fall to their deaths on the desert floor. I know, lovely, right?

But apart from those two things, I’ve created my own little world with my own original characters and an ever evolving plot. I’ve only ever written a snippet / prologue type thing for this story. The rest is all in my head and a few plot points and character lists typed up on the laptop. I think I’m going to post that preview type thing on my NaNoWriMo blog. Yes, yes I am going to do that. I’ll update this post with a link as soon as I’ve done that.

It’s interesting, I’ve just set up the post that will contain my little preview and as I’ve done that and keep typing here, I’m getting more and more excited! Although I’m still a tad worried that I will not finish this novel in the 30 allocated days, I’m excited at the prospect of actually writing it. And have a reason and motivation to do so!

I’m having a ‘fantasy’ day with a friend tomorrow that was planned a couple of weeks ago. Basically what we intend to do is show each other all our stories and story ideas along with world maps and character development pages and basically anything we’ve created that we’ve had really no one else to drop all these ideas onto. Hahaha. So we’re going to drop our ideas onto each other. It’s going to be a great day! And it’s definitely going to help me with getting my ideas out and written down for this novel writing challenge. I simply cannot wait for tomorrow. Plus, we’ll be in the parklands, so that’s just a bonus for inspiration.

I’m trying to think what else I can write here because I really feel like writing. That, and I know that I’m just not done on this topic and I don’t want to bombard you all with too many posts on NaNoWriMo. : D

Hmm, I might have a go at writing a little blurb about the novel.. xD Now don’t expect this to be anything of quality.. I’m just thinking it up and typing it out now. Heh.

Nineteen. Beautiful. Kind. Talented.
Ancient?Ā 

Small town Woodsborough girl, Amaia Matthews is used to feeling on the outside. Both her and her best friend Zara have lost their parents in strange disappearances and haven’t felt quite like they belonged in this town since they were little. Things start to get increasingly strange after Amaia’s 19th birthday when she starts feeling as though people are following her. In truth, she is being followed, but by what, no one is quite sure. Her life gets a little too exciting for her liking and the last she remembers is her best friend pushing her off a cliff before waking up in a lovely green forest with two people staring at her: a handsome man in odd clothing wearing a crown and a beautiful young woman who’s dressed like a bar maid.

What then unfolds is filled with anarchy, monarchy and magical battles of a 17th century Woodsborough.

I don’t know. That’s not what it will be at all, but it gives a little more information about the story I suppose. And I had fun writing it! Wow. This blog post has put me in such a good mood today! Ooh! I may have just recruited my wife to join in on NaNoWriMo! Woot! (No, I’m not actually married..) šŸ˜›

Hmmm, I think this is all for this post now. I’ll upload that link I mentioned earlier, in a minute. This is a nice long post, too. Yay! xD

LINK TO MY NANOWRIMO BLOG HERE!

Amber. xx

One thought on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Introduction! « MahNaNoWriMoBlog

Leave a Reply

